Radiohead and Shake Shack: A Perfect Combo

Good morning! I am running on very little sleep this morning because I was up late at a Radiohead concert last night. Worth it!!! But more on that later 🙂 Happy Hump Day!

Tuesday morning started slow. I had originally planned to go for a run in the morning because I knew I’d be missing my usual evening Crossfit class for the concert. But last minute Monday night, I switched my alarm to go off at 6:30 (my usual) because I wanted to make sure I got enough sleep to make up for the late night I knew I was about to have. Working out is important, but getting adequate sleep is important too.

I wasn’t feeling oatmeal or a smoothie and I needed to stop at Wawa for gas anyway, so I decided I’d have breakfast out this morning. I quickly got ready and took Brooks for a walk that lasted 35 minutes.

After filling my tank, I walked into Wawa to pick up  breakfast. I always get the breakfast burrito with egg whites, cheddar, sausage, salsa, tomato, and spinach. I usually stay away from their iced coffee because it’s sweetened and already has milk in it. How do you not have an unsweetened option, Wawa?! But I was pretty hot from the long walk I took with Brooks this morning, so I decided to just get a medium iced coffee to go with my burrito.

I broke for lunch at around noon and had the same burrito bowl from yesterday, and then added a pluot…or a plumcot…or maybe just a plum? I’m really not sure. I bought a bunch of different ones from Whole Foods, and really, I can’t tell the difference, hah.

After lunch, I worked a little bit more, but left to go home around 2:00 because I wanted to make sure that Brooks was all taken care of before I had to start getting ready for the concert. I wanted to take him on a really long walk, but I ended up just doing 25 minutes because it was too hot for him. He was panting pretty hard and slowing down a bit, so I decided to call it quits.

I took the train into the city and met up with Pat. We got Shake Shack for dinner, which was absolutely delicious. I had a Shackburger (single patty) and shared a black and white milkshake with Pat. Did I take a picture? Nope. I’ve gotten out of the habit! (It’ll come back with time–but sorry for the lack of pictures in this post)

After dinner, we walked over to Madison Square Garden, where we were seeing Radiohead. I bought a giant pop corn (because I can’t stand not having pop corn when I can smell pop corn–can anyone relate?) and a Diet Coke, and we settled into our seats with our friends Matt and Susan. Again, did I get a picture of ANY of us? Nope. Bad, Rachel. Bad.

I hadn’t really listened to a lot of Radiohead before the show. I listened to a few songs here and there, but I wasn’t a huge Radiohead fan and I wasn’t even sure they were my type of music. I was only at that concert because Pat is a fan and asked me to go with him.

I was dreading it a tiny bit, only because usually, when I go to a concert and don’t know the music, it kind of drags on. But I had the BEST time. The show lasted over two hours, and it honestly flew by because Radiohead is amazing live. Also, there’s music that I feel like you need to listen to over and over again to really enjoy, and then there’s music like Radiohead’s, where you can just listen and enjoy without knowing any of the words or being familiar with it. Radiohead will be added to my music rotation for sure.

The concert lasted so long that we missed the 11:00 train and had to wait for the one that came at 12:15. I was bummed that we had to wait (and lose precious hours of sleep), but we made the best of it. We bought a water bottle, and then found some seats and waited for the train, which left promptly at 12:15. We were in bed before 2am, and while I’m normally an old lady, and wouldn’t consider that a success on a weeknight, I will call it a win just this once!

 

Leave a comment